?

Log in

Conversion and Rule check - "Their number is Legion, their name is Death"

> Recent Entries
> Archive
> Friends
> Profile

May 10th, 2006


Previous Entry Share Next Entry
jslr
02:16 pm - Conversion and Rule check
Got a slight dilemna:
I have a Necron lord with a warscythe but I need a Staff of Light for him and I have no extra parts to make a Staff or any idea how to, does anyone have have any tips on how to make a staff of light??? or at least what to make it from!
(also, it would be preferable if i could still use the warscythe....)

on another note, I would like a bit of clarification on Wraiths, wraithfligh allows them to move like jetbikes, does this also give them the 'turbo-boosters' special rule?

and if a weapon ignores invulnerable saves does a jetbike that has moved more than 18 inches not get a save then?

Thanks in advance

(14 comments | Leave a comment)

Comments:


[User Picture]
From:stonehorse
Date:May 10th, 2006 12:32 pm (UTC)
(Link)
I ordered the Staff of light from the Destroyer Lord kit, cut of the end part and attatched that to the stump of the Necron Lords weapon. I then used it as a counts as weapon if it I bought a Warscythe it counted as one and vise versa.

Wraiths I believe do, but since their save is already inv it only gives an extra movement.

If any ranged weapon fired at the jetbikes ignores Inv, then yes the Inv save is gone, but the normal Armour is ok. Note Wariths do not have a normal armour save so can't use any save in this case.
[User Picture]
From:jslr
Date:May 11th, 2006 05:14 am (UTC)
(Link)
Thanks, guess Ill have to get myself another destroyer lord then.
[User Picture]
From:cloakable
Date:October 23rd, 2008 08:36 pm (UTC)
(Link)
Turbo boosting doesn't give an invulnerable save - it gives a cover one. So you're looking out for things that ignore both invulnerable and cover saves if you turbo boost the wraith.

The cover save is 3+, same as the invulnerable.

(Oh, swarms can turbo boost, and because they get a cover bonus, they get a 2+ save after boosting :D)
[User Picture]
From:jslr
Date:October 23rd, 2008 08:41 pm (UTC)
(Link)
Thanks, but with the new rules everything has been cleared up :D

Didn't think about the scarabs though..... hmmmm.... that could be fun :D
[User Picture]
From:cloakable
Date:October 24th, 2008 12:53 pm (UTC)
(Link)
It makes scarabs positively obscene for 12 points, and still obscene for 16 points with disruption fields. Moreso when you consider a lot of vehicles don't have weapons that ignore cover saves - a tank has little hope of wiping out a tankhunting swarm, so you end up with a tank running from 160 points of units :P

(Of course, that 160 points represents 30 wounds, and 40 attacks on the charge...)


I've taken out Land Raiders with pure swarms. Land Raiders :D
[User Picture]
From:jslr
Date:October 24th, 2008 01:00 pm (UTC)
(Link)
ROFL!!! That is insane! and all this time I thought scarabs were pointless! :P
My friends will hate you for as long as they live :D
[User Picture]
From:cloakable
Date:October 24th, 2008 06:52 pm (UTC)
(Link)
Scarabs are awesome.

Oh, and if you have a Nightbringer, try this - using swarms to 'trip' something nasty so the nightbringer can get into an assault with it :)

30 wounds is good for a few rounds of combat with a lot of things.
[User Picture]
From:jslr
Date:October 24th, 2008 06:56 pm (UTC)
(Link)
I am more partial to the Deciever, but I like that idea.
[User Picture]
From:cloakable
Date:October 25th, 2008 11:53 am (UTC)
(Link)
Deciever is good, but the Nightbringer is more of a murdermachine.

I've had opponents ignore my entire army (including a Monolith), to pump firepower into the scary thing advancing on them on it's own :D
[User Picture]
From:jslr
Date:October 25th, 2008 01:46 pm (UTC)
(Link)
Same here :D

But I find the Deceiver worth far more than the Nightbringer. It has some awesome abilities is cheaper and the fact that it has 5 initiative really helps me!
[User Picture]
From:cloakable
Date:October 25th, 2008 04:22 pm (UTC)
(Link)
The abilities are awesome, but I tend to just murder things with my C'tan :P The S10 means autopenetrate on most vehicles, for example :)

(S10 + 2D6 vs rear armour. AV10 & 11 on the rear = automatic penetrating hit).
[User Picture]
From:jslr
Date:October 25th, 2008 05:03 pm (UTC)
(Link)
S9 or s10, it makes very little difference to me when you get 2d6 armour penetration added to your roll.
From:(Anonymous)
Date:June 1st, 2009 03:46 am (UTC)
(Link)
ok wraths do have a normal save they count as 3+ armor 3+ invo. the warscythe ignors both. and coversaves are only for shooting the warscythe is use in close combat weapon so the bonus coversave from turbo bosting doesn't apply in the assult anyway. all almost all of this is in the faq on the main sight or in the books if you would read them.
[User Picture]
From:jslr
Date:June 1st, 2009 08:02 am (UTC)
(Link)
For the record, at the time of posting this, 4th ed was still in use and the faq didn't say anything about wraiths have 3+ armour and yes I did read the main and the book and the faq and thanks for the input, even if it is 3 years late :P

As for the invulnerable saves query,I was referring to jetbikes as in destroyers, because the old rules pretty much stated the your armour save becomes an invulnerable save when turbo-boosting, which meant that psi-cannons could pick off fast moving destroyers with great ease.

> Go to Top
LiveJournal.com